The BTTB- GBTA Travel Management Awards 2017


 BTTB- GBTA Travel Management winners 2017 


The winners of the BTTB-GBTA Travel Management Awards have been announced in a highlight of the BTTB 2017 Annual Conference at Royal Randwick Sydney.

There are two Awards, one for the Travel Programme of the Year (Buyer Award) and one for Travel Partner of The Year (Supplier Award).


A huge congratulations to the following winners:


2017 Travel Programme of the Year Winner

WoAG (Whole of Australian Government Travel), Department of Finance

2017 Partner of the Year Winner

The Lido Group


In announcing the Awards, Nigel Wardropper, managing director at btTB read the following citations based on the comments from the judges.


About the WoAG submission: “WoAG is very complex with over 100 sub-accounts and many areas of higher risk, national security and special needs. They have nevertheless stretched their TMC – QBT – to beyond usual best TMC capability – with robotic tickets in credit, auto refunds that reduce costs, And dynamic discounted OTA rates and over 90% use of OBT for domestic and international flights booking.


The savings this programme has delivered are exceptional, for which as tax payers we should all be thankful, and the level of customer or stakeholder satisfaction is also extremely high. Given the scale, complexity and diversity of the programme this is no mean feat.”


And about the Lido submission: “They have created a process + system that is genuinely new and that caters to unmet needs in the market. They’ve built a large inventory of special and non-mainstream accommodation. It’s the only online accommodation “platform” of its type.”


The Awards were presented by Mike McCormick, Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of GBTA.


A big thank you to the judges and to all of the other teams, both from the buy and supply sides, who submitted entries. Perhaps next year!



BTTB-GBTA Travel Management Awards Finalists 2017


The finalists for the 2017 Travel Programme of the Year (Buyer Award) were:


  • Charles Sturt University
  • WoAG (Whole of Australian Government Travel), Department of Finance
  • NSW Government
  • Insurance Australia Group


And for the 2017 Travel Partner of the Year (Supplier Award) were:


  • Tramada
  • FCM Travel Solutions
  • The Lido Group


Commenting on the entries and judging process, Nigel Wardropper, Managing Director at BTTB, said “ The quality of the submissions was excellent and produced extremely close results in both categories. I would like to thank our judges for their time in reading and evaluating the submissions and look forward to announcing the winners next Wednesday at BTTB”.


Thanks to our Judges:




  • Joanne Barlow, Procurement Manager – Indirect Services, Cochlear
  • Fiona Gribbon, Senior Procurement Specialist Travel and Expense, Telstra
  • Jo Prescott, Senior Procurement Analyst, New Zealand Government Procurement, Market Services, Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment
  • Daphne Bryant, Executive Director at GBTA Foundation
  • Tony O’Connor, Principal, Butler Caroye
  • Nigel Wardropper, Managing Director, BTTB/PASA


Thanks to our Awards Sponsor